Full List Of Senate Presidents In Nigeria Since 1960-2019 Click & See Details

Filed in CURRENT AFFAIRS by on June 11, 2019 0 Comments

Full List Of Senate Presidents In Nigeria Since 1960-2019: The President of the Nigerian Senate is the presiding officer of the Senate of Nigeria, elected by its membership. The Senate President is second in line for succession to the Nigerian presidency, after the Vice President of Nigeria. The current President of the Senate is Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan.

Full List Of Senate Presidents In Nigeria Since 1960-2019 Click & See Details

Full List Of Senate Presidents In Nigeria Since 1960-2019 Click & See Details

The ninth National Assembly was inaugurated on Tuesday, 11th June 2019 with the lawmakers-elect been administered their oath of offices as duly elected lawmakers.

Result following the elections which took place on the floor of the Senate on Tuesday, Senator Ahmed Lawan emerged as the new Senate President while Senator Ovie Omo-Agege was elected as the Deputy Senate President.

Since independence in 1960, Nigeria has so far had fourteen (14) Senate Presidents from various political platforms.

Check out the full list of previous and the current Senate President in Nigeria.

Senate Presidents of Nigeria

Senate President Term Party
Nnamdi Azikiwe 1960 NCNC
Dennis Osadebay 1960-1963 NCNC
Nwafor Orizu 1963–1966 NCNC
Joseph Wayas 1979–1983 NPN
Iyorchia Ayu 1992–1993 SDP
Ameh Ebute 1993 SDP
Evan Enwerem 1999 PDP
Chuba Okadigbo 1999–2000 PDP
Anyim Pius Anyim 2000–2003 PDP
Adolphus Wabara 2003–2005 PDP
Ken Nnamani 2005–2007 PDP
David Mark 2007-2015 PDP
Bukola Saraki 2015-2019 PDP
Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan 11 June 2019 – present APC
  • Nwafor Orizu was the only Senate President of Nigeria ever to ascend to the Nigerian presidency through the constitutional order of succession. He was later forced to hand over power to Aguiyi-Ironsi military junta.
  • David Mark became the first person to retain the Presidency of the Senate and serve a second term in 2011. He and his deputy were re-nominated without contest.
  • David Mark was the longest serving senate president (2007-2015) and his deputy, Ike Ekweremadu is the longest serving deputy senate president (2007 – 11 June 2019).

Other Recruitment You Can Also Apply

Important Visa Lottery Application Guide

Tags: , , , , , ,

About the Author ()

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *